Vegetable Barley Soup

There are two types of people in this world – those who are soup people and those who are not.  Undeniably, indisputably, I am a soup person.

I find myself turning to soup when the comforts of home are very evidently needed. When I can’t concentrate on anything besides wanting to curl up on the couch with an oversized steaming mug and sip my way to oblivion, I know it’s time. These phases of intense soup making come and go, but one constant remains – I am a soup lover through and through.

There is something quite extraordinary about taking a mere handful of humble pantry staples and creating something entirely soul satisfying. It’s often a leisurely process – the sweating of aromatics, the simmering of stock, the gentle and quiet reduction and intensity of flavour that only patience and time can create. Consuming it is also a slow process as you simply cannot rush your way through a hot bowl of redemption – you must tread lightly.

The soup below is not of the creamy silken variety. While I admire and appreciate those incarnations as well, this time I needed something much more – rustic home fare. I needed a reminder that soup, and food in general, can be transforming – that no matter how little you have or how restless you feel in your current circumstance, comfort can still be found – and quite easily. This soup is special to me not only owing to all of the above, but because it is also a perfect example of how the rhythm of cookery can be a comfort. After making this soup many times in the past, I know that I can now stand at the stove, barely thinking – sometimes shattered within, and still produce a pot of soothing, undemanding sustenance.

I hope you benefit from this soup as much as we do here in our little home.

Vegetable Barley Soup

Ingredients:

1 – 1 1/2 cups pearl barley

A good splash of olive oil

1 large yellow onion – coarsely chopped

3 cloves of garlic – thinly sliced

2 sticks of celery – coarsely chopped

2 medium carrots – coarsely chopped

2 bacon slices – coarsely chopped

4 large tomatoes – blanched, peeled and coarsely chopped

4 cups of vegetable stock

2 cups of chicken stock

1 teaspoon of sugar

Fresh italian parsley – chopped

1/4 cup tomato paste

Method:

(1) Cook pearl barley according to directions on package.  Set aside.

(2) Heat the olive oil in a large soup pot. Add the bacon and cook until crisp. Set aside.

(3) Add the onion, garlic, carrot and celery to the remaining oil in the pot and sweat until just tender.

(4) Add the tomato and cook, stirring, for five minutes or until the tomato is soft.

(5) Stir in the pearl barley, stock(s), sugar, parsley, reserved bacon and tomato paste. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for about 1 1/2 hours.  Season to taste.

* Can be made and frozen for up to 2 months.

** You can use a combination of vegetable stock, chicken stock, or whichever stock you prefer.  

*** You may need less tomato paste. Add and taste as you go.

7 thoughts on “Vegetable Barley Soup

  1. AndreA says:

    MMMM It looks so yummy! I hope I can take the bowl from the picture and taste it !

  2. What a lovely new space! I’m enjoying your blog so far — you’ve chosen a great few recipes to kick it off. This post makes me want to curl up with some soup, too!

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Trix says:

    I am most definitely a soup person, and this one is talking to me! Also, you used bacon. Hearts.

  4. I am a soup person by far. I love your pan too. It looks so nice and sturdy!

Leave a comment